Health and Safety Songs for Toddlers and Preschoolers

11/03/2015 12:09

Teaching your child about health and safety can be a real challenge. So for this post I decided to dig through the internet for health and safety song that you can easily play on guitar and piano. In case you don’t own any of the instruments, you can sing in a cheery tune and ask the kids to clap along.

Children go out and interact with a lot of things, including school playground equipment, benches, poles, and lots of other stuff that carries tons of germs. How to let kids become more aware about the germs? Well, here’s a germ song.

Every time I cough or sneeze
There are germs that come out of me
There is something I have found
So I don’t spread those germs around

Germ attack (germ attack)
I must fight back (repeat)
Germ, germ, germ, germ, germ attack.

When I sneeze or cough in my hand
Where I touch germs will land
I put my arm across my face
So those germs don't fly out in space

Germ attack (germ attack)
I must fight back (repeat)
Germ, germ, germ, germ, germ attack.

Does your child know how to use a tissue, and most importantly when to use a tissue? Many few children have that kind of awareness. What can you do? Of course sing a song. Here’ s one for the kids who do not know the importance of tissues.

I Need A Tissue! By  Beverly Meyer

I have myself a rotten cold
AA-AA-ACHOO!
I have myself a rotten cold
AA-AA-ACHOO
I need a tissue, I need a tissue
I have myself a rotten cold
AA-AA-ACHOO!

When I'm at school I catch my sneeze
(catch your sneeze in your arm)
AA-AA-AACHOO!
When I'm at school I catch my sneeze
AA-AA-AACHOO!
I need a tissue, I need a tissue

To get rid of the germs I wash my hands
Washy, washy, wash
So no one else will feel like this
Washy, washy, Wash
I need a tissue, I need a tissue
To get rid of the germs, I wash my hands
Washy, washy, wash

When I go home, I take a rest
Snooore
I find a warm place that I like to cuddle best
Snoore
I need a tissue, I need a tissue
When I go home, I take a rest
Snooore, good night!
When I'm at school I catch my sneeze
AA-AA-AACHOO


The songs are a great way to get ideas across to children. You can actually sing to your kids as they play with their outdoor playground equipment, or when they spend a relaxing evening in the backyard. You can also ask kids to participate in the singing process to engage them.

Do you use health and safety songs to edify your children about daily hygiene practices? What songs do you use? Share your songs and opinion about the subject with us through our comment section below and let us know your thoughts on them. Togethor we can help each other find better way to educate of kids.